An Irrational Hunch While Crafting a Table

And how following it, I find out why it was a more clever approach how to cut the wood.

Luke Fecko
2 min readOct 15, 2020
Photo by Sarah Green on Unsplash

Today when trying to create a table for my computer work set, I met a strange situation.

While I was going to cut the board there appeared an idea to cut it from a other side.

“This doesn’t make sense” looking at the other side.

I continued and while putting the cutter to the board, I felt this: “Don’t do this.” I put it aside and looked at it again.

It was in a worse situation, the corner where like bitten off. I was working with wood. The whole side was more dirty. The rectangle lines were already made. Just you know. It didn’t make sense on a first glance.

Now I just said “Okay,” and went along. Turn the board around and cut the 54 cm rectangles, from the uglier side.

Some work went by and I found out, that I don’t like the proportions. I was making a puzzle table. I wanted to fit one piece of wood to another with puzzle like gaps without screws. But when doing so I found it, the gaps or puzzle holes, were too close to the edge, so it could possibly break. All of a sudden I looked at the untouched part that I firstly wanted to cut laying there.

“Let’s try it here but make the puzzle system a bit more far away from the edge.” BUmbada bum, I carpenter it.

Looking at the board I was like: “Huh, good that I didn’t cut it first time.” I am not telling that’s always the case. It’s just gives you to show how sometimes the intuition is a good tool to follow. I don’t even know if it’s intuition. Call it whatever you want, that feeling to just go there.

“Go ahead” feeling.

“I, it doesn’t make sense why …”

That moment.

After listening to C.G.Jung, I got to defining the hunch as: “Knowing something without understanding all the intermediate step in between.”

Hopefully I did a good job explaining it. Did you experience something similar?

Bye,

Luke

--

--